ILCA Women’s Networking Group


Why Women Should Rule the World by pltgrl54
March 23, 2009, 3:28 pm
Filed under: 1

I confess, I was one of the members of the committee who felt like a deer caught in the headlights at the thought of blogging. As I opened my calender to indicate the date I was assigned, there was a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt. It said “You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” What a coincidence! So here goes.

My husband gave me the book, Why Women Should Rule the World, by Dee Dee Myers.   Dee Dee does make the point women have made progress in equality since the bra burning days of the ’70’s, (although I will say, I have a few bras I’d like to burn, because they are uncomfortable).   She does feel women’s perspective and ideas are often dismissed, and when this happens, society loses.

I just finished the first phase of the ILCA Leadership Council Training on March the 3rd.   It was a wonderful experience!  In terms of gender, it was about half and half men and women.  The focus was on individual skills and talents, not gender.  This created an environment which allows  both perspectives to be heard.

The Women’s Networking Group provides a space for women and men to address issues, solve problems, and present their unique perspectives.  During this time of economic upheaval, its important to honor the best ideas no matter the origin.  This enriches our businesses, our communities, and our world.

I want to thank the committee for giving me a push to do something I didn’t think I could do.  It’s made me feel like quite the risk taker!  Who knows what I will try next.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Brenda!
What a fabulous entry. I applaud your willingness to try new things. I also struggled with the notion of writing in a format that was unknown to me. It seems as I read the other blog entries that we are not alone. Having the courage to “blog” has come from knowing that our fellow members of WNG and ILCA will be supportive no matter what their gender. I am thankful for that!

Comment by Kathy Wicks

Tremendous things here. I am very glad to look your article.
Thank you so much and I am looking ahead to touch you.
Will you kindly drop me a mail?

Comment by busanhaps.com

I relish, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be having a look for.

You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Comment by Lynell




Leave a comment